Finalists announced for the second annual aio Media Hawaii Lodging & Tourism Awards

Dr. Chuck Yim Gee to receive Tourism Legacy Award.

The aio Media Hawaii Lodging & Tourism Awards aim to publicly recognize and reward excellence within the industry, reinforce the value of the tourism industry, reinforce consumer confidence in the tourism industry, and promote an annual platform of celebration for the industry and offer networking opportunities for operators, supporters, and sponsors.

A new addition to the program in 2019 is the Tourism Legacy Award. It is given to the individual who during the course of his or her lifetime has made a significant contribution to Hawaii’s number-one industry. HLTA and aio Media are honored to announce the recipient of the inaugural Tourism Legacy Award, Dr. Chuck Yim Gee, Dean Emeritus of the University of Hawaii at Manoa’s School of Travel Industry Management.

Nominations were submitted by the public in October, and three (3) to five (5) finalists in each category were selected by a blue-ribbon committee. The finalists will be recognized, and one winner announced, at an awards dinner at the Hilton Hawaiian Village on the evening of Friday, March 1, 2019, beginning at 5:30 p.m.

Finalists are listed below in alphabetical order:

Category: Agritourism/Agriculture – Tourism Destination

  • Aloun Farms Annual Pumpkin Festival
  • Kona Coffee Cultural Festival
  • Kauai Coffee Company Estates

Category: Agritourism – Farmers Market

  • Blaisdell Farmers Market
  • Kailua Farmers Market
  • Kapiolani Community College Farmers Market

Category: Excellence in Food and Beverage – Fine Dining

  • Alan Wong’s
  • Hy’s Steakhouse
  • Merriman’s
  • Morton’s The Steakhouse
  • Orchids at Halekulani

Category: Excellence in Food and Beverage – Casual Dining

  • Liliha Bakery
  • Mac 24/7
  • Side Street Inn
  • Tiki’s Grill & Bar
  • Waikiki Yokocho Gourmet Alley

Category: Best Hotels/Accommodations – Luxury Accommodations

  • Andaz Maui at Wailea Resort
  • Aulani, a Disney Resort & Spa
  • The Kahala Hotel & Resort
  • The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua
  • Turtle Bay Resort

Category: Best Hotels/Accommodations – Large Hotel

  • Hale Koa Hotel
  • Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort
  • Outrigger Waikiki Beach Hotel
  • The Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
  • The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort

Category: Best Hotels/Accommodations – Small Hotel

  • Andaz Maui at Wailea
  • Aqua Kauai Beach Resort
  • Four Seasons Resort O‘ahu at Ko Olina
  • Kaanapali Beach Hotel
  • The Laylow, Autograph Collection

Category: Best Hotels/Accommodations – Boutique Hotel

  • Mana Kai Maui Resort
  • The ISO
  • The Surfjack Hotel & Swim Club

Category: Leadership in the Industry – Young Achiever

  • Daniel Chun, Alaska Airlines
  • Kainoa Daines, Hawaii Visitors and Convention Bureau
  • Keri Brown, Outrigger Hotels
  • Megan Boren, Skyline
  • Meli James, Mana Up

Category: Leadership in the Industry – Cultural Advisor

  • Kaipo Ho, Outrigger
  • Thelma Keahulani Kam, Moana Surfrider
  • Vicky Holt Takamine, Hawaii Pacific Health

Category: Leadership in the Industry – Outstanding Individual in Music & Entertainment

  • Henry Kapono
  • Raiatea Helm
  • Willie K

Category: Leadership in the Industry – Contribution to Tourism by an Individual

  • Jerry Gibson, Turtle Bay Resort
  • Robert Iwamoto, Roberts Hawaii
  • Teri Orton, Hawaii Convention Center
  • Laura Richards, Hanalei Colony Resort
  • Cha Thompson, Tihati Productions

Category: Best Tourism Events – Heritage and Cultural Event

  • Kauai Chocolate & Coffee Festival
  • Made in Hawaii Festival
  • Queen Liliuokalani Keiki Hula Festival

Category: Best Tourism Events – Agriculture Event Using Locally Grown Products

  • Hawaii Food & Wine Festival
  • Kapalua Wine and Food Festival
  • Kona Coffee Cultural Festival

Category: Attractions/Activities – Activity or Adventure Company

  • CLIMBWorks Keana Farms
  • Kualoa Ranch
  • Polynesian Cultural Center
  • Skyline Eco Adventures
  • Smith’s Tropical Luau

Category: Attractions/Activities – Major Tour & Transport Operators

  • Blue Hawaiian Helicopters
  • Paradise Helicopters
  • Roberts Hawaii

Category: Attractions/Activities – Achievement in Sustainability

  • Andaz Maui at Wailea Resort
  • Atlantis Adventures
  • Skyline Eco Adventures

The aio Media Hawaii Lodging & Tourism Awards will be held on March 1 at the Hilton Hawaiian Village. Tickets are on sale now and can be purchased here.

The evening will promise top-notch entertainment and dining, along with a pre-function networking and cocktail hour.


Categories: Hawaiʻi Lodging Tourism Awards