01-15 him cover_nonbc_lores small

The only national magazine dedicated to Hawai'i
Subscribe Now >>

There are 1865 posts about Hawaii on this Site

Kuana Torres Kahele, Na Palapalai among nominees for Hawaii's Na Hoku music awards

Hawaii_Honolulu_music_awardsLast year, at the 35th annual Na Hoku Hanohano Awards ceremony (Hawaiian music industry’s equivalent to Grammys), Big Island vocalist/songwriter/musician Kuana Torres Kahele and his debut solo album, Kaunaloa, were the top winners.

Kahele (pictured, right), a founding member of multi-Hoku-award-winning group Na Palapalai, is in the running again (along with Na Palapalai’s other members, Kehau Tamure and Ioane Burns) for top honors, according to a list of finalists for 2013 Na Hoku awards released this week by the Hawaii Academy of Recording Arts.

Among the 36th annual Na Hoku Hanohano awards nominations: Male Vocalist of the Year (Kahele), Hawaiian Album of the Year (Na Palapalai), Album of the Year (Na Palapalai), Christmas Album of the Year (Kahele), and Liner Notes (Kahele). In addition, a nomination for graphics (best designed and created album package) is for work on Na Palapalai’s album titled Ha‘a. The nominated graphic artist is B. Kanai‘a Nakamura.

Last year, Kahele won the following awards: Male Vocalist of the Year, Hawaiian Album of the Year, Song of the Year (Na Vaqueros), Liner Notes, and Album of the Year. All awards were tied to Kaunaloa. An award for graphics went to Kuhao Zane and Kamele Eskaran for their work on Kaunaloa.

This year’s Na Hoku awards ceremony is slated for Sat., May 25 at the Hawaii Convention Center in Honolulu. Click here for more information.

Page 1 2 3 4 5

Check out these related HawaiiMagazine.com posts:
New Hawaii music festival expands Na Hoku Hanohano Awards celebration
Where To Eat in Hawaii?
Hoku Zuttermeister wins big at Na Hoku Hanohano awards

Hawaii Magazine Web Viewer
Shop Hawaii
Passport to Fun